Words and music by Ivan Matthew Hicks

Drums: Nicholas Rowan
Violin: Joshua Watson
Additional keyboards: Benjamin Casey

Cover art: Jordan Grant
Recorded by Marly Lüske

LP tracklist:
A1. My Throat = Abyss Of Tar (2:38)
A2. Emissary Of Light (2:48)
A3. Alive With Desire (5:50)
A4. Portents To Beauty (3:17)
A5. Iridescent Effigy To Hades (4:10)
B1. In Greenland, Alone (5:11)
B2. Lithium Hangover / Ordinary Morphine (6:29)
B3. High Calvinism (3:55)
B4. All Doomed (4:23)

Digital tracklist:
1. My Throat = Abyss Of Tar (2:38)
2. Emissary Of Light (2:48)
3. Alive With Desire (5:50)
4. Portents To Beauty (3:17)
5. Iridescent Effigy To Hades (4:10)
6. In Greenland, Alone (5:11)
7. Lithium Hangover / Ordinary Morphine (6:29)
8. High Calvinism (3:55)
9. All Doomed (4:23)

Amateur Childbirth

Your Afterlife Is Cancelled   BLACKEST059

Choir! Choir! Choir! Of arseholes.

This is Amateur Childbirth’s Christian Rock album. The previous LP from Ivan Matthew David’s solo project, 2015’s Pripyat, concerned itself with the blighted belief systems of UFO worshippers, Your Afterlife Is Cancelled expands this compelling solo project’s field of enquiry to look at a wider array of “religious anomalies” – cults, for want of a better word. Each song is about a different such anomaly.

To call Hicks’ vision apocalyptic would be to underplay its cruelty. The Bible’s rampant sadism pales in comparison. This is a world where faith – in a god or gods, in astrology, morality, or any meaning whatsoever – is merely a prelude to punishment. His lyrics are vivid glossaries of pain, abjection and indignity; the songs’ protagonists swim in blood, piss, shit and ejaculate. Eschatology and scatology are indivisible here. Drugs are rampantly abused, albeit to little benefit. There are scalpel-flashes of humour in David’s wordplay, rhyming and dour Brisbane diction – but this offers scant consolation for the songs’ embattled subjects, who wait, in vein, for salvation, while crows peck out their eyes, blood pours from their ears, and psoriasis ravages their skin.

These words, for all their pessimism and body-horror, are cradled in minimalist, folk-rock arrangements that are quite dazzling in their beauty and grievously earned simplicity: Hicks’ monochord strum embellished with subtle violin, synthesizer and percussion shading. Amateur Childbirth’s caustic end-times worldview inevitably prompts comparisons with Current 93, but also a wider (non-)tradition of caustic and disturbed loner psych that includes Simon Finn, Patrik Fitzgerald, Robyn Hitchcock, Peter Jefferies and Roy Harper.

Your Afterlife Is Cancelled is a depressive tour de force from one of the most crushingly eloquent voices in the Australian underground. Available to pre-order now on LP and digital formats, and due to be released in late August, 2017.