Written and performed by Camella Lobo.
Studio – Karl O’Connor.
Cover art by Silent Editions.


  • A1. Plant Lilies At My Head |
  • A2. Court of Devotion |
  • B1. Hardest Day |
  • B2. Children Of A Lesser God |
  • C1. More Alone (Album Version) |
  • C2. The Seasons Won’t Change (And Neither Will You) |
  • D1. Wake The Night |
  • D2. Rites Of The Wild
Tropic of Cancer

Restless Idylls   BLACKESTLP005

“I do not ask for mercy, for understanding, for peace / And in these heavy days I do not ask for release / I do not ask that suffering shall cease.”

Restless Idylls is the debut album by Tropic of Cancer.

The album consists of eight new recordings, written and performed by Camella Lobo in Los Angeles, with additional production from Karl O’Connor (Regis) in New York and London. It marks ToC’s return to BEB two years after the three-track EP The Sorrow Of Two Blooms, the label’s third release and one if its most cherished.

Its themes? The usual: romance, devotion, pain and helplessness. Mixed up mortals struggling against the brute mechanics of fate, and proving unequal to the task. A forced retreat into private, precious idylls of longing, faith, mystery, even misery.

Lobo’s most varied and accomplished work to date, Restless Idylls takes in expansive, extravagantly despondent synth vistas (‘Children Of A Lesser God’, ‘Plant Lilies At My Head’); dubwise love songs (‘More Alone’, ‘Court Of Devotion’); and night-activated, pedal-to-the-floor ghost riders (‘Hardest Day’, ‘Rites Of The Wild’). O’Connor’s deft, unmistakable studio touch further deepens and intensifies these pieces, resulting in a sensual and sepulchral psychedelia unlike anything we’ve heard before.

The solo project of Los Angeles-based Lobo, Tropic of Cancer debuted in 2009 with ‘The Dull Age’/’Victims’, a 10″ single on Downwards and the first of three collaborations with Juan Mendez (Silent Servant). Two years later came a second Downwards release (‘Be Brave’, remixed by Cabaret Voltaire’s Richard H. Kirk), followed soon after byThe Sorrow Of Two Blooms. Since then there have been 12″ releases on Mannequin, Sleeperhold Publications and Ghostly International (a Part Times Punks Sessions live split with HTRK) and a limited edition compilation, The End Of All Things, compiling singles and unreleased recordings from the Downwards era.

The live incarnation of Tropic of Cancer – featuring Dva Damas’s Taylor Burch on guitar – will be supporting the release of the album with an extensive European tour, including a headlining appearance at the Blackest Ever Black showcase in London on October 12. The full list of tour dates can be found below.